Local Ear Music


Annual Local Ear Awards announced

Friday, March 7, 2008

Nevada's community of musicians has made a tradition of honoring its members with special awards. The Fifth Annual Local Ear Reader Choice Awards was held on Tuesday, Feb. 26, at the Sunrise Family Restaurant in Nevada.

With a primary goal of promoting the local music scene and of helping local musicians have opportunities to showcase their talents in a variety of venues, the Local Ear group takes time each year to recognize the efforts of local musicians as well as those who make sure the show goes on through their efforts behind the scenes.

About 43 people attended the event to see the 26 official awards that were determined by the 110 votes that were received via the voting ballot online at www.myspace.com/localear.

Previously, 37 people sent in nominations and those nominees along with several write ins established those on the ballot for each of the categories. Twelve other special awards were also given out recognizing other outstanding performances, all derived from the musicians of Vernon County.

The top awards, and winners include:

Favorite Artist or Group: Berlin Drop; Favorite Live Act: Down 'n' Out; Favorite Country Artist or Group: Eric Lane and the Doghouse Band; Favorite Rock Group: Berlin Drop; Favorite Solo Act: Matthew Harper, Hero of the Year three way tie: Matthew Harper, Aaron Rorabaugh of Berlin Drop, Jason Moomaw of Cedar Ridge Recordings; Favorite Christian Artist or Group: Matthew Harper; Female Vocalist of the Year, tie: Kelly Garrison of the Death Trolley band and Dawn Jones of the Joneses; Male Vocalist of the Year: Aaron Rorabaugh; Favorite Actor: Kevin Jaynes; Favorite Actress: Kelly Garrison; Drummer of the Year: Aaron Rorabaugh, drummer for the bands Down 'n' Out and Doghouse Band; Bassist of the Year: Drew Bauer, formerly of On Autumn Drive now playing for Down n' Out; Guitarist of the Year: Nathan Rorabaugh of Berlin Drop; Keyboardist of the Year tie: Dan Keller, Nathan Rorabaugh who also plays keys for Baby Fingers; The Multi-Player Award: Aaron Rorabaugh, who plays bass, guitar and drums; Favorite Jazz/Blues/Rhythm and Blues Group: Eric Lane and the Doghouse Band; Best Poet: Lonnie Polk; Best New Act: Kent Street; Singer/ Song-writer: Dan Divine; Best Album or Demo: Baby Fingers, "Dreams for the Day and Mares for the Night;" Favorite Americana/Blue-grass: Wildflowers, Dan and Lorrie Divine; Favorite Folk Singer: Matthew Harper; Best Duo: Baby Fingers; Promoter Award three way tie: Whitney Mosher, Nathan Rorabaugh and Dangerous Doug Harper; Favorite DJ: Sheena Dickey; Vernon County Sound Man: Cody Reed; Guitar Guru: Nathan Rorabaugh; Most Enthusiastic: Bobby Bittner; Keeping the Music Scene Alive: Andy's Pizza; Best Producer/ Engineer: Matthew Harper.

Make a free website with Yola